ACS Stanley C. Israel Award for Advancing Diversity in the Chemical Sciences (Southeastern Region)

The Stanley C. Israel Regional Award recognizes individuals and/or institutions that have advanced diversity in the chemical sciences and significantly stimulated or fostered activities that promote inclusiveness within the region.

Nominations must be completed online no later than July 1, 2016 at Stan Israel Award page. The nomination requires 1) a letter of nomination; 2) a CV or resume; 3) one to three letters of support, including one from the nominee’s local section leadership.


The award consists of a medal and a $1,000 grant to support and further the activities for which the award was made. The award also will include funding to cover the recipient’s travel expenses to the ACS regional meeting at which the award will be presented.


Nominees may come from academia, industry, government or independent entities, and may also be organizations, including ACS local sections and divisions. The nominee must have created and fostered ongoing programs or activities that result in increased numbers of diverse persons who participate in the chemical enterprise, including underrepresented racial/ethnic minorities, persons with disabilities, and women.

Prior Recipients

  • 2016 -- Gina MacDonald cares deeply about educating non-science students and in diversifying the science community. As a testimony to her commitment, over time, she has worked with a very diverse group of students in her laboratory.
  • 2015 -- University of Mississippi Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry was recognized for its longstanding efforts to increase participation of women and underrepresented minorities in chemistry. Of particular note was the recent hiring of the Department’s first African-American woman as an Assistant Professor in 2014, and the hiring of recent African-American graduates, Dr. Margo Montgomery-Richardson and Dr. Shana Stoddard, as Assistant Professors at Alcorn State University and Rhodes College, respectively. Also, five African-American students and one Hispanic Ph.D. student, three of whom are women, earned their chemistry doctorates from the department over a one year period during 2012-2013. The department also has a student awards celebration, which, in 2015 alone, recognized 32 female undergraduate chemistry students.
  • 2014 -- J. V. Ortiz was recognized for fostering a strong relationship between Auburn University and the National Organization for the Professional Advancement of Black Chemist and Chemical Engineers (NOBCChE). These efforts include founding of a student chapter of NOBCChE and service as its advisor, the establishment and renewal of an ongoing Technology-Education partnership with the national organization, and the hosting of NOBCChE's 2011 Southeast/Southwest Regional Meeting, which set records for attendance and participation.  Prof. Ortiz has also promoted diversity with the chemical sciences through a collaborative agreement with the National Autonomous University of Mexico, Iztapalapa that has led to a mutually beneficial exchange of ideas and personnel.
  • 2013 -- Dan Rabinovich was recognized for mentoring over 50 Hispanic and African-American graduate, undergraduate, and high school research students, for working tirelessly to secure funding support for students in the SEED Program there, and for supervising many Project SEED students in his research program. He has also served as the Project SEED coordinator at UNC-Charlotte for over a decade, the National ACS Committee on Minority Affairs for eight years, three of which he chaired the Education Subcommittee, and the National ACS Committee for Project SEED for two years.
  • 2012 -- Christine S. Grant was recognized for her work in mentoring underrepresented students and postdoctoral fellows, as well as junior science and engineering faculty at NC State and beyond, for founding “Promoting Underrepresented Presence on Science and Engineering Faculties (PURPOSE) Institute” which celebrated over seven years of promoting careers of minority and women faculty while providing role models for students at all stages in the pipeline, and for her K-12 mentoring which includes innovative programs that mentor the parents along with each student.
  • 2011 -- Carol Parish was recognized for her work in mentoring underrepresented students at the University of Richmond and Hungtao Yu was recognized for his leadership in the growth and development of the Chemistry department at the University of Texas Southwestern, an historically black university
  • 2010 -- Angela Peters was recognized for work in mentoring undergraduate, graduate, junior faculty, post-doctoral associates, and pre-service teachers, as well as her outreach to middle and high school students, providing access to lab experiences.
  • 2009 -- Cornelia Gillyard was recognized for contributions to science education, mentoring, and administrative leadership, mainly at Spelman College but also within organizations such as ACS and NOBBCHE, and in programs such as NASA WISE and ExxonMobil Scholars.
  • 2008 -- Judith Iriarte-Gross was recognized for her leadership in science education programs that increase the numbers of girls and young women that pursue careers in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM).
  • 2007 -- Gloria Thomas MaGee was recognized for her continuing role as young and energetic mentor to underrepresented minority students entering careers in science, as facilitator for these students to participate in conferences and research experiences, and as adviser to professional organizations and institutions seeking to recruit and retain minority students.
  • 2006 -- Georgia Tech Women in Chemistry Committee (Ms. Ashley Ringer, Chair) was recognized for the outstanding efforts of this group of graduate students to create an effective and sustainable program that raises awareness, particularly within the Metro Atlanta area, and develops solutions to challenges encountered by women and underrepresented minorities in pursuing careers in the chemical and related sciences.
  • 2005 -- Chris Bannochie was recognized for his leadership in establishing and fostering inclusiveness and recognition of lesbian, gay and transgender members of the American Chemical Society and the broader scientific and professional communities. His efforts and guidance are recognized, for work leading to the ACS Policy Statement of 2003-14 that recommends federal legislation to extend employment discrimination protection to include sexual orientation, gender expression and gender identity.