ACS E. Ann Nalley Southeastern Regional Award for Volunteer Service

The Nalley Award recognizes the volunteer efforts of individuals who have served the American Chemical Society, contributing significantly to the goals and objectives of the Society through their regional activities.


This award was instituted in 2006 by ACS Past President E. Ann Nalley as part of her presidential initiative to recognize ACS volunteerism. The award consists of a medal (to be awarded for the first time at SERMACS 2009), together with travel expenses (subject to restrictions) and meeting registration at the SERMACS meeting where the award is given.

Eligibility and Application Procedures

A nominee must be an ACS member residing in a local section within the region. The volunteerism to be recognized may include a variety of activities, including but not limited to the initiation or sponsorship of a singular endeavor or exemplary leadership within the region. Past and present members of the ACS Board of Directors and staff are ineligible. The SERMACS Board administers the award in the Southeastern Region.

Prior Recipients

  • 2016 -- William H. "Jack" Breazeale, Jr., South Carolina Section
  • 2015 -- Judith Iriarte-Gross, Tennessee Section
  • 2014 -- Shakti K. Airee, Kentucky Lake Section
  • 2013 -- Mary K. Moore, Northeast Tennessee Section
  • 2012 -- Christopher J. Bannochie, Savannah River Section
  • 2011 -- Paul Deck, Virginia Blue Ridge Section
  • 2010 -- Tim Hanks, Western Carolina Section
  • 2009 -- Larry Krannich, Alabama Section
  • 2008 -- Bill Switzer, North Carolina Section
  • 2007 -- Ruth Woodall, Nashville Section
  • 2006 -- Hank Ramsey, Western Carolinas Section